February 3, 2010

  • I Joined the Water Club

    Before I get to the meat of the entry, here is a funny conversation at work.  I am talking to one of my coworkers early in the morning and ask, “So, whose door are we kicking in today?”  He was still in the middle of his morning coffee, and replied, “I’ll be kicking one in about 30 minutes from now.”  5 minutes later, after the convo, I walked away, saying, “Well, I’m going to go kick in a door.”  Needless to say, “kick in a door,” is now the new euphemism in the office.  Now, on to my story.

    This month, I decided to join the Water Club at work.  Basically, if you do not want to drink tap water, you can pay $5 a month and be one of the lucky people that can have water from the water cooler near your work area.  Technically, it’s not created by my job, just a thing that workers in multiple locations have put together. 

    When I originally got to my job, I was against the idea of joining.  I mean, how much water was I really going to drink.  After a while, I realized that I drink quite a bit.  Enough to warrant the $5.  I mean, bulk buying bottles at BJ’s only goes so far, especially when you forget a bottle, and have to pay $0.75 for one at work. 

    Now that I am part of the club, and paying, the most important thing is getting my $5 worth of water.  This has led to some interesting discussions by people concerning how much water one can drink.  For example, some people drink a gallon of water a day.  Can the water club support this amount of consumption?  If I just throw a bottle over my shoulder when I go home, that should be fine, right?  Technically, you said it’s unlimited water, so it should be okay to fill up my fish tank, right?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *