Month: February 2011

  • Bad luck at losing

    Last week, The Daily News was running a contest.  It’s the kind that requires you to collect the bar codes from the paper for the rest of the week. 

    Having done that, I went to glue them all to the form, when I noticed that the contest also required me to send in a losing Minute to Win It scratch off lottery ticket.  I was really upset at this after having to get the bar codes, but I decided to suck it up since I was already mentally invested.  I was not happy when I saw that a ticket was $5.

    I purchased a ticket and walked out of the store, scratching it and planning to immediately throw it in the envelope and mail it. The girl behind the counter wished me good luck.  I told her that wasn’t what I needed.

    Unfortunately, I won $5.  Not to be deterred from my goal, I walked back into the store to claim my winnings… and buy another ticket.  The girl again wished me good luck.  I again told her that’s not what I wanted.

    Leaving the store, I walked maybe 10 feet, only to see another $5 winner on the ticket.  I was so upset that I didn’t scratch any more of the ticket.  I just went back into the store and handed it to the girl behind the counter.

    When she scanned it, it turned out that I won $15.  Apparently, it was one of those tickets where you can win more than once.

    I spent $5 of those dollars on another ticket, which finally busted, allowing me to finish my contest entry.