Month: March 2010

  • Problems with buying clothing

    Here’s a small fact for you.  The husband of a coworker of mine works for JC Penny.  Recently, she told us that they has changed all their women’s clothing sizes by 2.  That is, if you were a size 6, now you’re a size 4.  How wonderful.

    I bring this up because I recently order clothing online from both JC Penny and Old Navy.  Essentially, due to my high frugality, it allowed me to earn more points on my credit card than if I had gone into the store.  Also, there was an online sale and free shipping.  My only time investment would be the online checkout.

    Most of the clothing was great, except that there were some issues that should not have happened.  First off, I’m a guy.  We have VERY standard sizing: our pants are based on actual measurements, and our shirts are on a pretty good scale.

    The shirts that arrived from JC penny were a bit tight.  Like, “what I wore when I first started working out to show off the fact that I was working out” tight.  That’s not what I wear now (I still work out.  It’s other reasons).  The problem is that they were large shirts, which are based on a chest measurement that I do not exceed.  I should have been good.

    Old Navy shirts were fine.  The Old Navy jeans were okay, and I’ll have to see what a couple of washings do for them, but there was one issue.  The back pockets were not as deep as they usually are.  I like my wallet to be buried.  A criminal should have to sexually assault me to get to it.  With these pants, everything stuck out a tiny but, or was flush with the top.  Old Navy jeans did not do this in the past.  I might have to change to Nautica.

    Now I’ll have to inspect things in the store before I buy them online.  I’ll actually go into a store and stick my hand in a pocket.  I wonder what the next change they screw me on will be.  Maybe they’ll make the crotches tighter.